A persuasive essay on why life was harder back then

Imagine waking up and not having a phone to scroll through in the morning or not having the hundreds of ways of communicating with friends and family. That's how life was like in the older days when your grandparents were just kids. Undoubtedly, times have changed significantly in the past hundred years, from the development of technology and medicine to simply fewer work hours and more leisure time. Life back then was much harder than it is today for many reasons, some of which are the substantial advances in medicine and the creation of social media and technology. Polio, Cholera, Typhus, Small Pox, Yellow Fever, and The Plague. These are just a few examples of diseases and viruses that caused massive epidemics in the 19th Century. Today's medicine has evolved to a point where we no longer have to worry about most illnesses, as we can simply take a vaccine. But for people living through those times, these illnesses were incurable. The advancement in medicine and all its branches has relieved a substantial amount of pressure off newer generations, which is why it is an important factor, if not the most important, why life now is much easier. Furthermore, life is much more comfortable due to the creation of social media, various communication methods, and many other technological advancements. Some might argue that technology, including social media, has made it harder for the new generation by causing elevated stress and insecurity. Although there may be some truth to that argument, the advantages of technology strongly outweigh the disadvantages. Technology offers so much, from being able to share your day with friends on social media to talking to loved ones miles away. Technology has allowed us to do unimaginable things like traveling to the moon or reaching our destination in less than five minutes. Many things have become incredibly easy and straightforward when they were usually tough and tedious back then. All of these examples show precisely why life was much more exhausting than it is now. In conclusion, over the years life has changed considerably. Due to remarkable technologies and increased connectivity, average people today have a simpler and more stable life than most grandparents did when they were children. This is why I advise everyone to appreciate everything they have in life and to always be grateful.