A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

Unfortunately, it is true that in today's era people are being judged as per their social status or personal possessions. That ship has sailed, when people used to value things like honesty, kindness etc. . Now everyone is so indulged in collecting materialistic possessions like gold, bungalows in posh areas, expensive cars like BMWs etc. . For instance, my friend had to undergo huge trouble when her groom's family broke their engagement, just because her family was unable to give them dowry amount they asked for. But the question here arises is why we have failed as human beings. Well there are so many possible reasons behind this. First of all we are brought and bred in this way, I mean that we are conditioned to be like this since our childhood. We are taught that we are successful only if we have have 5-6 digit salary, or if we own a huge house or buying a costly car. Our progression is linked to our success. Sometimes owing possessions satisfies our so called ego and help us to think that we are superior from others. Let's take the example of education system, where parents expect their children to get high marks, which is indirect way of telling their kids that you are good enough as long as you get good grades and then only you will be valued. To conclude, I would like to say that now folks believe that more the possession you own, there are more chances of your recognition in your community, but on the flipside it would be really great on our part if we can teach kids some moral values and ethics, as no one can take their personal belonging along with them once they die, but they will surely carry those precious values, which will help them in making their life worthwhile.