A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

I certainly disagree with the popular belief that people do not mind a person’s values and character anymore. While it is true that people are quick to judge others based on social status and material possessions, there are still other characteristics that matter. When we meet a person for the first time, naturally, we only see how he looks, whether he is well groomed, how he dresses and how he carries himself. It is usually easy to judge whether the person is rich or poor based on the material things that he possesses. It is a normal tendency to look at physical characteristics first because these are the obvious ones. We are also drawn to people when they are popular and shows charm around other people. However, as we get to know that person more deeply, physical characteristics, social status and material possessions seem to fade as compared to attitude and behavior. Our decision on whether we allow ourselves to form a deeper relationship with that person as a friend or a partner or not, is based on the person’s non-physical characteristics. We begin to give emphasis on how he treats us and others around him. Of course, if the person shows positive attributes such as honor, kindness, humility and trustworthiness, we tend to like him. If the person shows negative attributes such as aggression, carelessness and lack of regard for other people, we tend to dislike him. I believe that the measure of a person’s value is his character and not by his social status and the things that he owns. In the long run, material things can be lost but a person’s place in society remains for as long as he shows goodness and regard for others.