Write about the following topic: A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at art institution or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Life is all about taking those small extra steps. Tertiary courses are the extra steps in our students life that could serve both negative and positive purposes. Internships related to those top-up courses have both advantages and disadvantages. Schools offering tertiary courses require students to participate in unpaid internships. This could mean extra opportunities during study period. Indulging in extra works broadens our horizon. Learning from real life experiences always adds up to our theoretical learning technique. Similarly, this provides us with a working experience before the completion of our study years. Finding jobs and interacting at jobs can be less scary if we involve ourselves in similar works before graduation. Building connections and personal relations with the market place beforehand provides us with the experience and confidence to let ourselves out in the world. In contrast, such programs requiring unpaid works can be exhausting. Balancing school works and jobs is hard and young minds cannot always take that stress. I have seen my brother struggle with his studies as he started working after school hours. Likewise, the non-paying factor can be a little discouraging. Giving all of our hardwork to a non-paying job just isn't practical. Thus, requiring unpaid work from students has its pros and cons. These types of course requirements can be beneficial to students but only if don in moderate amount that gives them the freedom to explore their work environment and not force them to know everything beforehand.