A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world and give your opinion.

Tourism contributes significantly to a lot of different economies around the globe. Advantages of developing tourism in the country include economic growth, yet on the other hand, land may become polluted. In my opinion, balance should be kept between those two. Rapid increase in tourists make the economy grow substantially. Income from tourism can be then used to build infrastructure, develop healthcare and education, help to develop better society. Moreover, local businesses attract more customers, and general population becomes richer. For example, many island nations, such as Bali experienced extreme economic growth once it became a popular touristic destination. Despite this, it should be noted that tourists and hotels pollute environment greatly. Tourists from another countries don’t care about preserving the nature of the place they are visiting. When hotels and roads are built, forests are destroyed, animals lose their habitats and become endangered. For instance, in Bozjyra, West Kazakhstan, developing tourism can harm populations of saiga. In my opinion, tourism should be developed, but the administration should help with preventing pollution and potential harm to the environment. Government should invest portion of the earned money into preserving the environment, create national parks, enforce/make laws that prohibit pollution and limit tourism. For example, in Kazakhstan, government protect unique places and animals by creating national parks. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages in developing tourism in any country, which include economic growth and environmental pollution, but in my opinion, preserving a balance between them is the most important thing.