A lot of people think that the things you learn outside school are much more useful than anything you learn in school. Others believe that school teaches you most of the essential skills which will be useful later in life.

From lots of Czech traditions, I choose the tradition called Masopust, because now is its period and I planned to participate in it for the first time this year, but it was canceled because of coronavirus. It is a three- days holiday before 40 days of carnival ( from the Italian word carne levare – goodbye meet). It has celebrated meat and spring. It has been celebrated for over 800 years. Also, this tradition is written on the UNESCO list. It is interesting is that this holiday was not disrupted by Communism. The cCarnivals traditions is known worldwide known. The most famous is fore example in Venice or Rio de Janeiro, but the Czech one is very different. Masopust is more folk, personal and fairy-tale. Participants of Masopust should dance, sing, eat, drink and wish everything the best at a every house in a village. Traditionally most men are wearing masks like a symbol of fertility. Every colourful costume has a role to play and nice features. The exception is a horse, it representspretends sins. The hHorse is ´´killed´´ aton the end of the procession, but it is resurrected again like a symbol of spring beginning. The most popular are masks of bears, horses, skeletons, chimney sweepers, straw men and red men. This occasion starts in villages houses, then there is a parade through the city, followeds by the coronation of the queen of Masopust and also there is a theater play of students. Last but not least, there is a parade of costumes on the main square, meeting on the top with the next village and it ends by celebrations in a big tent full of food, drinks, music, dancing and performances of acrobats. I am interested inby this holiday, because it is about folks creativity – people have meetings before it and make masks together and I think it is good for relationships in a village. They do slaughterhouse, they have mountains of food for example Czech donuts and this will pleasantly shorten the long winter waiting for spring.