Some believe it is important for cities and towns to invest heavily in building large outdoor public spaces.

Many today claim that cities and towns have a responsibility to erect communal, outdoor spaces for residents. I am in agreement with this viewpoint, though I concede there are other important areas requiring attention. Detractors to significant funding for public spaces argue there are more pressing budgetary concerns. All governments must balance allocations between key areas ranging from healthcare and education to housing and economic growth. One common policy proposal is that the majority of problems could be dealt with through more robust governmental economic intervention. The standout examples underpinning such a contention are developed countries in North America, the United States and East Asia. Once the economies of those nations started to grow rapidly, citizens were able to provide for themselves and their families, lessening the burden on governments to fight crime, fund education, extend healthcare benefits, and so on. Nonetheless, public spaces meet a wide variety of needs for the average city or town resident. Sufficient public space is typically considered one with high quality of life. Take New York City for example. Before Central Park was constructed, the island was mainly a place of business and people lived outside the city. Central Park’s development now allows residents to go for runs in the park, attend cultural events such as outdoor plays, hang out with friends in nature, and play various sports. These activities are some of the chief reasons to live in a densely populated city and they bring a vitality to the city that, more than any other single factor other than perhaps employment opportunities, justifies urban life. In conclusion, despite legitimate doubts, it is my belief that heavy investment into public spaces is warranted due to the diverse range of ramifications for a citizenry. Governments should endeavour to prioritise such investment.