A growing number of people rely on restaurants and convenience food (frozen food and packaged food) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way.

Nowadays, more individuals are relying on hotels and processed, readymade food instead of freshly prepared food. There are both merits and demerits to this. Food outlets and ready to eat meal are convenient due to lack of time to prepare meal at home. However, this meal option is unhealthy and may lead to long term ill-health. Most of people find restaurants and ready to eat food convenient. Many food outlets have been established in last few years. Moreover, many restaurants deliver food at doorstep with no additional cost. Many working individuals find it easy and comfortable to order food from these outlets. Due to busy work schedule and longer working hours, it is difficult for them to go for grocery shopping and cooking. For example, many graduates order food from restaurants die to lack of time to prepare meal. However, convenience food and restaurant meal are unhealthy. Preservatives have been added to the processed food to increase its shelf life. Furthermore, processing reduces nutritional value of the packaged food. Many restaurants may not follow the health cautious approach while cooking meal. Such food is usually high in calories and less in nutritive value. For instance, frozen fries are often added with hazardous preservatives. Many outlets like MaDonalds sell high calorie food. In addition, processed food a d meals from hotels lead to long term ill-health. High calorie food and packaged or frozen food leads to development of obesity which inturn deteriorates cardiovascular health. Additionally, many individuals suffer from long term diseases like diabetes. To illustrate, many studies have proved that processed food leads to development of obesity and diabetes. To conclude, even though the restaurants and processed food are favorable, it may lead to development of long term illness due to its unhealthy nature.