A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

An increasing number of people argue that animals have similar rights to humans and should not be abused, while others say that animals are necessary for humans in meeting their nutritional and experimental needs, amongst several others. This essay agrees that animals play a vital role in groundbreaking medical and food discoveries by man; however, ample evidence proves researchers treat most of these animals poorly while in captivity. Scientists have dramatically advanced their knowledge of human nutrition, health, and disease by studying animals. This is because experiments performed on animal models have improved their understanding of human biology and physiology. Researchers now have a better understanding of the causes of nutritional imbalance and human fatalities, all thanks to animal models available for several trials and testing. For example, it is a well-known fact that the discovery of amino acids as an important constituent of the baby formula was made possible through mice's study. Again, over 85% of childhood vaccines had to be tested on animal models before certified fit for human use. These vaccines have reduced infant mortality occurrence to barely 2% worldwide. On the other hand, humans have been seen to take undue advantage of animals to meet their needs. Animals in confinement are badly treated and sometimes made to undergo invasive procedures deemed inhumane. For instance, several guinea pigs were dissected in the most traumatizing manner when scientists searched for muscle atrophy process reversal treatment. In conclusion, the use of animals in research is essential for researchers to develop new drugs. In fact, legally, all drugs have to be tested on animals for safety before being used in humans. In the same vein, researchers working with animals are now under strict obligations to carry out their experiments with extreme care to eliminate or minimize suffering.