" A great city does not necessarily mean a populous city" Discuss the statement and give your own opinion

The decency of a living place is determined by various factors, from living conditions, it provides, to local residents' satisfaction. Therefore, there is a judgement that densely populated city does not always equate to an ideal one. From my personal perspective, whether a megacity can be a perfect dwelling or not depends on a myriad of different criteria. In the first place, a metropolitan area with a large population could serve as a favourable residence for people to inhabit. In the light of its abundant human resource, a crowded city is likely to magnetize a substantial influx of both international and national corporations to establish their head offices. As a result, inhabitants will enjoy more positive job prospects with a wide range of occupations at their disposal. Additionally, local residents will reap dividends from a better living standard. Equipped with state- of- the- art technologies, metropolises offer students with an innovative and modernized education. Furthermore, there is a variety of options for recreations, for example, theatres and cinemas, which people can visit and unwind themselves. Nevertheless, the aforementioned assumption is actually not the case with every packed urban zone. In many megacities, although they do stimulate more career opportunities, a noticeable proportion of employees are only entrusted with merely menial tasks or working as sweated labour. Consequently, they suffer from a worsening health condition, not to mention their inconsistent incomes. Living in an overcrowded town, the paucity of accommodation is another spectre that these urban residents fear. An obvious illustration of this point is Luanda, the capital city of Angola. The city builds itself as an international hub in the South African region, however, against the prosperous backdrop is abject poverty, 5 million people are incurring in their unstable squalors with improper sanitation and water supply. In other words, a crowded city does not necessarily guarantee happiness and fulfilment for its locals. From my viewpoint, in order to become a truly great city, three following standards should be underscored. Firstly, it must have the capability to provide all basic necessities for its dwellers, which include adequate shelter, sufficient groceries, or sound education. Secondly, an ideal city affords its Denizens opportunities to develop and prove themselves. For instance, it should incentivise a dynamic start- up climate, or erect a diverse job market for young generations to enter the limelight. Finally, the grassroots’ happiness is a hallmark of a great city, as via this aspect, it demonstrates that the authorities have managed to satisfy their residents' demands. In conclusion, a populous city is not always synonymous with a utopia, as the concept of a great city is dependent on a host of qualities. Personally, should a place achieve the aforesaid trifecta, it would be a wholesome destination for anyone to reside in.