A few individuals believe that schools should focus on making students more competitive, whereas others assert that cooperation and teamwork are vital for students and must be given priority. I intend to mention both the views along with my opinion in the following paragraphs.

A few individuals believe that schools should focus on making students more competitive, whereas others assert that cooperation and teamwork are vital for students and must be given priority. I intend to mention both the views along with my opinion in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, those who favour former notion opine that students need to have competitive thinking owing to the extensive competition in the education sector and professional life. To explain, in order to take admission in a top-notch institute for tertiary education, a student must be trained enough to compete in its entrance examination. Apart from this, while taking a job in any prestigious organisation, one has to be in the top positions in the merit list. For example, in 2018, according to data given by staff selection board of India, the ratio of government posts to the number of applicants was 1 ratio 500, which indicated huge competition for a single post. Thus, these kinds of requirements often entice guardians to give priority to the teaching of being competitive in schools. On the other hand, proponents of the latter idea assert that other aspects of education such as teamwork and cooperation are vital for the torch bearers in future. To elaborate, most of the organisation prefer candidates who can perform well in a team and coordinate among colleagues efficiently. It is primarily due to the fact that most of the task in the company requires joint efforts of the team to complete it successfully. Owing to the above said reason, these skills are a primary requirement of the organisations. For example, Multinational companies, while hiring students from universities, often include group discussions and group task so that they can judge the ability of the candidates to work in a team. Therefore, it can be envisioned that it is imperative to teach such skills in school. In my perspective, the teaching of coordination and teamwork skills is vital for the pupil as these skills also develop them socially. To substantiate, when a student interacts with fellow students, it helps to make more friends in the school which is important for the development of a society. This non-trivial aspect is not taken care of while teaching students to remain competitive. To illustrate, it is generally seen that in order to study more and remain competitive, pupils remain disconnected from other students, which make them socially underdeveloped and, thus, face problems in the later phase of their life. To encapsulate, even though the competition is required for cracking competitive exams, still, I believe the teaching of cooperation and teamwork is more conducive for the holistic development of a student.