imporving existing transport or building new railways

People are separated into two groups about building new railways in some countries. One group states that it is necessary to spend numerous number of money to build new railways for fast travel between cities, and the other states this money must spend for improving existing transportation. In my opinion, this money should be spent to improve existing transportation. First point of view, new railways that can contain very fast trains between cities can reduce the time in trip. Thus, it can be gained amount of time to passengers. Also, this can reduce the number of cars that traveling between cities because trains can go other cities much faster. Moreover, it can increase the comfort of the travels. New super- fast trains will be more comfortable, enjoyable etc. Especially, give time to passenger to have a rest because they will not drive car or will not seat at any uncomfortable train or bus seat. On contrary, not all city livers travel between cities all the time. It would not be very useful for them. There are less people need to travel between cities most frequent. On the other hand, city livers go everywhere in city every time. That is their right to want more comfortable buses in city transportation. It can affect the pollution and traffic problems in cities because there would be less people use their own cars. They would use public transportation instead of their cars if the public transportation would be more comfortable. However, they already have public transport, on contrary they do not have railways. To sum up, improving existing public transport is more important than building new railways in terms of pollution, traffic problems, usage etc.