6. Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

Breakthroughs in transportation allow humans to have many favours and various choices of transport means, which, however, leads to a big issue of traffic jam, especially in modern cities. There are several causes of this alarming trend, but measures could certainly be taken to tackle the problem. One of the most prominent causes giving rise to this problem is the fact that people prefer to use their own vehicles, claiming that public transport is inconvenient, dispuntual and crowded. Local authorities should encourage people to use buses or tubes more often by improving the qualities of public transport systems. Buses and tubes should be larger with more seats, arrive on time and run in a wide range of directions. Traffic jam in cities is also caused by the large number of vehicles going into the city centres. This problem can be prevented by some measures like imposing higher tax on the vehicles, increasing parking fee or setting car-banned roads. London is a successful example of levying tax on vehicles entering the cities. The number of people who want to pass the city has declined considerably, easing the increasing traffic congestion as a result. In big cities in Vietnam, the two latter solutions are applied efficiently. Car owners have to drive a far longer distance to the expected destinations, as well as pay a higher fee for parking them, and sometimes it is even hard for drivers to find an empty parking lot. Therefore, they are gradually discouraged from using private cars to travel in the cities. In conclusion, cities in the world can relieve traffic congestion by improving the qualities of public transport, taxing on vehicles entering the cities or increasing parking fee and setting car-banned zones in road systems.