4. Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree.

There are conflicting views regarding whether to construct apartment buildings for commuters in the city center instead of parks and gardens can enhance the efficiency of forth and back to work. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my own opinion at the end. Those who advocate building more apartments in downtown may put forth the following argument. There is no doubt that many workers are disturbed by long-distance commute. Therefore, if enough apartment buildings were constructed in the city center, more employees would live near their workplaces, shorten the distance between their home and office, and spend less time traveling to work. Nevertheless, those who think reducing commute time consumption are unlikely to need simple removal of green spaces for apartments can also justify their opinions. Even though moving houses nearby offices do save transportation time, as mentioned above, it is not a suitable approach because more negative effects will be exposed. On the one hand, decreasing the number of parks and gardens may destroy the natural environment, which extremely hard to rebuild. On the other hand, living close to offices, people will be surrounded by invasion work atmosphere, which may cause stress emotional without enough private space, and then leading the work efficiency decline. In my opinion, sacrificed the environment to reduce commute time is not the best approach since this plan would backfire. More sustainable ways can be chosen, such as working at home, moving offices to remote areas, and taking different working hour measures rather than simply constructing buildings.