3D Electroporation Device using Microbeads Enhanced Electric Field for Bacterial Inactivation

This paper presents the use of insulator-based dielectrophoresis (iDEP) device comprising of densely packed silica beads that achieved high bacterial inactivation performance (~ 4. 75 log removal). In the device, insulating silica microbeads were packed between two mesh electrodes that enabled the enhancement of the local electric field strength allowing electroporation of bacterial cells. The inactivation performance of the device was evaluated using two model bacteria including one Gram-positive bacterium (Enterococcus Faecalis) and one Gram-negative bacterium (Escherichia coli) under various applied voltages. More than 4. 5 log removal of bacteria was obtained for the applied electric field strength of 2 kV/cm at a flowrate of 4 mL/min. The effect of microbeads on the inactivation performance was assessed by comparing the performance of the microbead device with that of the device having no microbeads; operating under same operating conditions. Results suggest that only 0. 57 log removal was achieved for the device having no microbeads which was 8 folds lower than the device with microbeads.