25. Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to poorer countries rather than financial aid. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Even though technology is developing at a fast pace and the standard of living of most individuals has gone up, billions of people still live in poverty, and in many places, the rich countries give financial aid to developing and under-developed countries. Some people consider it good. However, I beg to differ. I believe that the developed countries should give some other types of help to the poor countries and not direct financial aid. My first argument against financial aid is that this aid may not actually reach those for whom it is meant. It may go into corrupt pockets. Secondly, it would make those people lazy as they would be getting aid without doing any work. Thirdly, the aid may be used for wrong purposes. For example, the aid may be given for development projects but it may be used to promote terrorism. Finally, if aid is given without proper research, then it may be used for projects which are not the priority of the people. For instance, the people may need health and educational institutes, whereas the aid may be used for making dams or expanding roadways. The best way to help poor countries would be open good educational institutes, good health centres and creating job opportunities for people of the poor countries. It has been wisely said by someone that – Give a man fish to eat, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man how to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime. If people of the poor countries start earning well their standard would definitely become better and the whole country would become richer.