1. In recent years, more and more people choose to live by themselves. Is it positive or negative for the development of the society?

It has become far normal for people to live alone, particularly in metropolitan areas in the developed world. From my perspective, I firmly agree that the demerits of solitary lifestyle prevail over its possible merits. First of all, property prices and rents will inevitably arise if more and more people choose to live on their own. To be specific, living a solitary lifestyle can increase pressure on housing shortages, while there is not enough space to build more houses in a limited urban area. As a result, a rise in demand for housing is likely to push up property prices and rents. A survey conducted by 'TIMES NOW' reported that Shenzhen property rates have been increased by 35% in the last 5 years due to the increase in the number of people living alone. In addition, the increasing trend of living alone has a direct relationship with the percentage of people suffer from psychological problems these days. In other words, living alone creates loneliness and depression, unlike the traditional family where there are always others to share someone’s distress and sadness. Tolerating negative emotions alone often leads people to become introverted, egoistic and eccentric. A recent Shenzhen University study reveals that single-person family members who saw a psychiatrist increased by 20% over last year. In conclusion, the increase in one-person households has more detrimental effects on the development of the society because that it may not only cause house prices to rise but also it is negative to people's mental health.