Writing task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some exports believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently an increasing number of people place emphasis on language learning of the next generation. Opinions may differ as to whether it is better for children to begin the acquisition of a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. It is undeniable that having classes of a new language at primary school may deliver some negative consequences. Primary school students are generally known to have limited learning ability. Therefore, learning the basics of multiple languages simultaneously can be too much of a burden for them, resulting in poor performance. A further downside is that words of the same meaning in different languages may confuse young students. This might lead to to a generation of a mixed language, which will impede them even from mastering their mother tongue. Nevertheless, the disadvantages could be mitigated by carefully designing the curriculum so that the lessons can reflect the development of children's cognition abilities. Foreign language courses should start at higher grades of primary school in order to avoid interference with the learning of native language. Acquiring a second language early can generate numerous positive outcomes. It could be conducive to the growth of their brain, since being bilingual activates different parts of the brain, and the growth of the brain is more active when it is used frequently. In addition to this, learning a foreign language at primary school can broader their horizon earlier, thus cultivating their international competence. One should also consider the fact that younger people have better ability in language acquisition due to the structure of their brain. To sum up, I agree that the advantages of beginning the acquisition of a foreign language at primary school outweigh the disadvantages.