Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of how much it is relevant to various areas in scientific research, business, and the academic world is becoming more and more important as the pace of fast technological innovation and the internet allows instant collaboration. In my opinion, information is valuable and shareable. This essay aims to illustrate the trend towards data sharing and to discuss the benefits and barriers of data sharing. The benefit of sharing data is to reduce both the cost of data collection and the overall cost of research. Scientists base their research on foundations laid by other scientists. In the past, this meant building their research on scientific theories are proven by other scientists. Recently it can also be done by using data that have been collected by other scientists. Also, the databases can be built of data combined from many smaller databases. It could be an effective research strategy for data mining and allow scientists to test and retest their findings against those of other scientists and promotes progress in science. The emergence of data sharing as a potential requirement by some areas gives the benefit for the users. Conversely, there are several barriers to this fact. There are economic differences in the world that make data sharing expensive. Also in some parts of the world, there are bandwidth limitations that make data access difficult. Besides, if data are to be shared, there must be common standards for the data and the software, for example, OGC standards for digital spatial data. In conclusion, despite all the above-described issues relating to data sharing, a transition to a more open science and business has begun. Researchers and institutions who first seize this opportunity will be on the wave-front of innovation likely to be in favor of public needs. It is time to share!