At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a public debate that the number of young adults tends to be larger than the elderly population in many countries around the world. While this fact could have both advantages and disadvantages, I firmly convinced that the positive implications of having a youthful population overweigh the negative ones. This essay will discuss the strengths and weaknesses by giving examples to support both points of view. One advantage of having large numbers of young adults population is that the state has the opportunity to be able to encourage the productivity growth of its people because has numerous human resources so that it is easy to get workers. The data shows that 70% of the total population of Indonesia is a young productive age, but the quality is still low so that it has an impact on the workforce. However, this fact is sometimes not comparable to the condition of youth who are less skilled at work. Productive young people should be able to understand the skills they must have before entering the world of work. Also, they are expected to have characters such as soft skills, life skills, and work ethic. Those who are about to enter the world of work must be prepared from an early age to become healthy, intelligent, and productive people. Conversely, old is not always wasted. The Australian Human Rights Institute (AHRI) survey showed that more than 50% of respondents felt that older workers were more trustworthy and more than 70% of respondents stated that elderly workers tend to be more loyal than younger workers. Furthermore, some companies still employ parents. This phenomenon exists in Japan. In 2019, the number of elderly workers working in the manufacturing sector tends to increase. To conclude the arguments given above, each age group has its own benefits and drawbacks. Personally, I think the number of people of productive age provides more advantages than disadvantages. However, on the other hand, the existence of the elderly also needs to be considered, because they have a positive side which they built for decades, such as soft skills, life skills, and work ethic.