Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language has many benefits, such as increasing knowledge in the global scope, making it easier to be accepted and socialized in the international world, helping us keep up with technological developments, continuing our education, and so on. While some people believe that the only reason we should learn a foreign language is when we are moving or working in a foreign country, many others argue that the benefits of learning a different language are not limited to job and travel prospects alone. This essay will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, it is rational if someone learns a foreign language when faced with a necessity, such as when they have to move or work in a foreign country. These two things make the trend of learning a foreign language seem natural because people are required to interact with residents of that country with their national language. But on the other hand, there are still many other benefits of learning a foreign language besides the reasons to go and work merely. At least we know that a lot of books related to developing science use foreign languages, for example, English. Scientific journals are published in English. So that if we master English, it will certainly help us to upgrade our knowledge. Another reason is regarding technology which is developing rapidly. Almost everyone around the world is dependent on technology, and its growth is mostly provided in a foreign language. This will be very beneficial if we are able to master foreign languages well. In conclusion, there is no denying the fact that people primarily learn a foreign language to travel or work overseas. Nevertheless, there are many other equally compelling reasons to learn a second or third language in this globalization era. Because anybody will get numerous opportunities to use their foreign language skills in many accomplishments of their life.