Write an essay summarising and evaluating the key points from both texts. Use your own words throughout as far as possible, and include your own ideas in your answe. Some say that file-sharing websites have a detrimental effect on the music industry, whereas the truth is that it can held unknown artists to gain more audience. People still want to experience live music concerts because of its unifying features and uniqe ambience.

The two texts consider different facets of the music industry. The first one is concerned with the effects of illegal downloading, whereas the other outlines various reasons for a wide appeal of live music events. The first text busts the myth that unauthorised peer-to-peer file-sharing of copyrighted music works impairs the record industry. In fact, the author goes even further stating that those websites might be used as promotional platforms for upcoming artists who are not working with any music-industry leaders, thus helping them to gain audiences. Moreover, never before have we had such a wide variety of music genres and singers to opt for, hence it can contribute to boosting CD sales to everyone's taste. Although history is littered with examples which proved that file-sharing websites can really help unknown artists to rise to stardom, I still believe that it is unfair for proprietary material to be distributed for free, since illegal downloads are unprofitable for well-known artists and they consequently incur losses. The second text addresses a question of why irrespective of the availability of access to high-quality recordings and a myriad of uncomfortable aspects of visiting crowded live music gigs people continue be attracted to them. It presumes that it is some innate desire to establish a bond with like-minded people that triggers to share the physical experience of listening to their collective idols. It also emphasizes that more often than not the musicians play in new ways while performing live and therefore every concert has unique features which might excite fans who know the recorded versions by heart. I tend to agree wholeheartedly with the author as there is nothing which can be as exciting as singing all together with other fans the songs of your favourite band and seeing them performing live. Listening to a recording pales in comparison with that. In conclusion, the texts correctly highlight that although there are some concerns connected with online copyright infringement of famous artists, they will still attract millions of people to their live concerts.