Women are better at childcare than men therefore they should focus more on raising children and less on their working life.

Although the care of children has traditionally been the role of women, nowadays, many men have decided to stay at home to raise children while the woman in the family goes to work. However, some people believe that women have a natural ability for childcare and this role should be left to them. I completely disagree with this notion and believe that both parents share responsibility to raise their children. Firstly, both men and women have qualities which are important for upbringing and educating children. The qualities necessary for well upbringing of a child, including financial support, education, teaching good manners, are not gender specific, therefore both parents are capable of raising their children successfully. In fact, by promoting the idea that childcare is a job only for women, children will receive a message which portrays women as carers only. For example, young girls who are taught to believe that the place of the women is at home will not be encouraged to perform well in school subjects which are more male dominant, such as science. Secondly, the role of women in the workplace has changed significantly in the last fifty years. Many women now hold senior or executive level positions in many areas of employment. Women contribute a range of skills to the workplace which are both important and valuable. In my opinion, women should continue to focus on their career and ensure that their daughters are aware of the opportunities which are available to them in life. Men should also take on some responsibility of childcare and should teach their sons this a valuable role in society for men as well as women. In conclusion, it is important that both men and women share childcare duties because both have important qualities and skills. However, women and men should also be allowed to focus on their career and provide a strong role model for their children.