Central and local governments make a frantic attempt to promote festivals to create a lot of revenue. Some people think this money should be invested in social programmes for the poor. with this statement?

These days the number of people living higher quality of life has increased. Most people are able to afford basic needs and spend lots of money in other activities like tourism and attending festivals. At the same time there are some people who can not even afford a meal in a day. Some people believe the return earned by the government from investing in festivals should be invested for the welfare of the poor. So I do agree with the statement because I believe every citizen has the right to fulfill basic needs such as food, health service and education. Before the industrial revolution, people had to work not for the money but to survive and to fulfill their basic needs. However, these days people work to get paid in the form of money and money can buy everything, people have forgotten the importance of basic needs. For example we except vegetarians eat meat almost everyday but we do not realize how hard it is to cattle animals. Rather we spend our time for extra activities such as entertainment, tourism but we do not realize people below poverty are still fighting to fulfill their basic needs. Furthermore, the government is investing money to organise festivals to earn return from the investment and I believe the government should spends the return from the invested to fulfill the demand of the poor people and to end the poverty for example, in my high school one of my friend drop out from the school and start working in a restaurant to cover the medical expenses of his father. So my point is there are still people who have to sacrifice their desire because of common needs of the society. In conclusion, although festival and tourist attraction programmes have positive aspects, it is important to support the poor and improve their living standard. Without the help of the government it is not possible to end the fight against poverty. So I agree with the statement where the government should bring incentives for the poor from its earnings through such festivals and ceremonies.