With this sudden shift away from the classroom in many parts of the globe, some are predicting that the adoption of online learning will continue to persist post-pandemic. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays lessons are held on online platforms, replacing abruptly traditional classrooms in range of countries all over the world. Some people forecast that studying remotely will be continuously used after the lockdown period. This essay will compare benefits and drawbacks of e-learning, and show that latter outweighs the former. On the one hand, distance learning is advantageous as it saves much time. Students and teachers do not need to go to and from school, as a result, they save a large amount of time. For instance, pupils, who live in big cities frequently suffer from traffic congestions. It may take 2 hours to reach the school and another couple of hours to get home. Owning 4 more hours a day is extremely beneficial both for scholars and teachers. On the other hand, students often feel deprivation of human interaction during remote learning. Traditional methodology, in which pupils see a real teacher and classmates, sharply contrasts with distance learning, in which they cannot experience non-verbal communication. Especially, primary school students are influenced tremendously by lack of real teacher during online classes. According to a study held by Yale University, children need a human conversation and individual attention in order to focus on the lesson and succeed in study. However, remote studying have lead to decline in concentration and motivation to gain new knowledge. Furthermore, some technical problems deteriorate the situation. Many pupils do not have an opportunity to participate in the lessons, so they need to skip them. It is an enormous disadvantage that overall level of knowledge decreases substantially due to e-learning. In conclusion, studying from distance, which was accepted due to COVID-19, will have particular positive and negative effects. However, disadvantages as drop in quality of learning definitely outweigh the advantage as saving some hours.