In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, minute rural stores have closed down due to the fact that buyers commute to larger shops or malls to buys goods. I think it is a negative development because the smaller stores will not have the opportunity to grow and expand. When customers stay in their locality to buy products, the local market will grow. In other words, they will be able to purchase more products that will meet the demand of the consumer. For example, Mrs James, who owned a small shop in front of her house, opened one beside our estate gate because people in the estate patronized her little business rather than going to the mall outside the estate. Therefore, if buyers patronize smaller department shops, it will enable them to grow. In addition, small outlets will expand if consumers buy from them. This is because they will know what is lacking in their shop and as such, they will purchase those items to meet the needs of their purchaser. That way, the shop will expand and more merchandise will be available for sale. For Instance, my neighbour told me about how she had to start selling provisions in her store because people were always demanding it. That is to buttress the fact that local outlets will expand when customers purchase goods from them. In conclusion, I believe it is a negative development for consumers to patronize big malls rather than the local shops because they will not accord the avenue for the local stores to grow and expand.