When choosing the best candidate for a job, employers should consider personal qualities more than qualification and experience.

What is the main criterion for judging a candidate’s relevance to a position? Preferences in this regard vary considerably. Of the utmost importance, according to some, are personal qualities, as opposed to academic prowess and work experience. This essay will argue that both aspects of selection are equally essential. It is imperative to ensure that the person being hired possesses qualities such as punctuality and interpersonal skills since most jobs require direct human involvement. Otherwise, an employee, no matter how intelligent or experienced, may not fulfill their duties to the fullest. A clear illustration is freelance translators, who often have to work to strict deadlines to complete an urgent task in a timely manner. Likewise, sales assistants are instructed to be polite communicators to please the customers. If these workers fail to exhibit the desired personal qualities, their education or experience alone may not suffice. However, recruiters must also give a similar amount of value to theoretical background and experience. It is clear that most professionals such as teachers and lawyers are expected to have a certain level of knowledge in their area, without which the quality of their work would suffer inevitably. Similarly, experience is massively important as well, seeing that any form of work takes a lot of time and practice before it can be done perfectly. Not surprisingly, this is the reason why so many job announcements tend to lay great emphasis on work experience. I would therefore maintain that those in charge of hiring new employees need to consider personal qualities as well as knowledge and experience equally. These, I believe, are the main ingredients for the success of an organization as a whole.