What measures can be done to ensure equitable access to COVID-19 vaccines?

One of the most alarming issues nowadays is that of the inequality between citizens of rich countries and poor countries' access to coronavirus vaccines. As these vaccines go into mass production, many individuals are proposing suggestions to guarantee equal access for all. To begin to tackle the situation, vaccine companies and manufacturers are in power to keep track of as well as regulate their production to insure against waste of their products. Although this may stand a challenge to some companies, this wise step is for them to take in order to ensure that everyone has protection against the novel coronavirus. Companies such as Pfizer which claims to operate one of the world’s most sophisticated supply chain systems must be leading the trend. Alongside efforts that must be made by vaccine distributors, governments and authorities stand at an advantageous position to enact policies to prevent queue jumping. It is also advisable for countries which have a large amount of vaccines in stock to share them with developing countries with a limited amount of vaccines available either through a loan for an aid. It has been proven that the action is a brilliant attempt to improve diplomatic relations between countries, though not eliminating deeply-rooted problems immediately. Alongside the tempting benefit of strengthening relations with other countries, these policies are beneficial to mankind’s ultimate goal of achieving global herd-immunity. One COVID-expert has said that a country’s COVID-19 wave is no local crisis but a global one. With that being said, it is not until COVID-19 vaccines are equally distributed that mankind will be able to achieve global herd-immunity. In conclusion, measures need to be taken by both vaccine manufacturers as well as governments for an unbiased access to COVID-19 vaccines among mankind.