What makes polymer balls bounce highest?

At the afternoon, at the streets or playground, there’re always many children standing there and playing bouncing ball. Almost every place, different country… You could all see some children are playing bouncing ball. Bouncing polymer ball is a toy that can bounce very high when it hit the ground. It’s not a normal bouncing ball. It’s a little different, because if it put too long, it will become dry, and the function of bounce will be reduced. And you could also make it very easy, you just need some mean material, such as glue, cornstarch, borax and worm water. Polymer is many small materials stick together, it uses covalent bond to keep them stick together, the first example of polymer is come from Henri Braconnot in 1830s. Certain ingredients will affect how high a polymer ball can bounce because different materials have different functions affecting its bounce: borax links the molecules together, glue mix with the ingredients and help shape it into a ball, and corn starch makes the ball harder. Glue will help mixing other martial. First ingredient, glue. The glue will mix all the ingredients but also shape it. Because if you add borax inside, the liquid of borax and glue will become thicker. The liquid will become something more like slime. This is because the borax will change Polyvinyl alcohol, a water soluble molecule, a kind of like plastic and rubber (PVA) inside the glue. If add more the ball will be a liquid that is more like honey. But if add less the ball can’t be shape, it may be too hard, and it will very easily break apart, too. Borax will help the ball shape and links the molecules together. The next ingredient, borax. Borax can let the material linked together, it will also affect some ingredient of the ball. For example, it will help Polyvinyl alcohol(PVA) change. If you add too many borax, the ball will be too hard, it makes the ball very easy to broke apart, and hard to shape to a ball. According from the article “Strong and stretchable double network (DN) hydrogels are reported here which are consisting of first network of PVA-borax double strand and cross linked P(AM-co-HEMA) as the second network” (Dixit, Bag and Kalra). Explanation Borax can make glue harder. When borax mix with glue, the PVA inside the glue will change, it will become harder, kind of like slime. Cornstarch will help the ball shape. The last ingredient, cornstarch. Cornstarch is make of corn. Not just use it in kitchen, cornstarch can also let the bouncing ball be harder either. According to the source “By adding cornflour to the PVA and Borax mixture you now have a material which becomes harder when you give it more pressure” (Fizzicseducation). Cornstarch help ball be harder and make it more like clay. Because it is powder, so when it adds water it will become thicker, if you add more, it will make it hard. The different amount of ingredient will affect the high of the ball bounce. Different ingredient has different work to do, so it can be a bouncing ball. If you add too much, it will be something else, just like food, you need to eat vegetable, rice, and meat to let you be healthy, but if you eat too much, you will become unhealthy. The material will change how high the ball will bounce because every material has different function. Because the borax will let the glue become hard, if you add too much, you can’t shape it to a ball. The corn starch can let the ball bounce very high, if you didn’t add it or just add few it will become very soft.