What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays the general population is registering more overweighted people than ever before. Overweight has been associated with several devastating physical and psychological health problems. This essay will discuss the reason behind the increasing number of obese people and its respective solution. It has been noted in scientific journals that the main cause behind overweight and obesity is the prevalence of a sedentary lifestyle. People are working out less and are introducing all sorts of junk food to their bodies. For instance, it has been proven that the average adolescent spends more than 35 hours per week playing video games or binging on television series. In addition, people of all ages tend to visit junk food restaurants more than three times a week. Not only will these hazardous activities put people at a risk of cardiovascular diseases such a myocardial infarction, but also it might affect their psychological wellbeing by inducing depression. The solution to limit the increase in overweight figures includes implementing a healthy regimen. Physical exercise and a healthy diet play very important roles in overweight prevention. It is of great importance to work out at least for 150 minutes of aerobic exercises per week, since it boosts the immune system, helps burn fats and strengthens the heart muscles. Healthy diet is indispensable for a healthy lifestyle. People must avoid saturated fats and sugar containing beverages, which increase oxygen radicals in the body and induce inflammation. To reiterate, the growth in the overweight’s population is mainly due to the lack of body movement and the unhealthy eating habits. To alleviate this problem, a program that encourages people towards health promoting movement and educate them about the benefits of healthy food must be administered.