What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Nowadays, it is common to employ persons that are known for their bosses, which means that does not depends on your qualification anymore to be accepted in a job, but the network you are in. It is appearant that most graduates that get their jobs right after finishing a qualification have relatives connecting them to a business. In these situations we can see an inequality, in which the market prefers known people rather than their experiences and studies. However, not all employers choose their employers based on their connections. Some of them look carefully for whom they will give a job, seeking for earnest people that will surely do their best in whatever they do. In conclusion, we can see that there are looking only for their connections before the skills that an employee offers. Nevertheless, not all employer act this way, giving the chance to high standard graduates that are seeking for jobs.