What are the advantages and disadvantages of children spend time with their grandparents?

Nowadays, more and more parents encourage their children to spend their spare time with grandparents. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. To begin with, the interaction between elder people and youngsters has beneficial impacts on both of them. In terms of children, they will have opportunities to share their inner feelings and be given advice. In other words, due to large amounts of time, patience and numerous practical life experiences, the older will become the young’s intimated friends who can listen to and share the pressure with them. Furthermore, it is beneficial for elder individuals to gather with children because they no longer suffer isolation. Through the time spent together, grandparents can improve their emotional intimacy between them and offsprings and become closer to the young generation. However, it is concerned that there are still some drawbacks when youngsters communicate or play with the old. First and foremost, this trend can lead to some unexpected conflict in light of gap generation. To put in another way, some people are really conservative. Hence, they can accept the modern lifestyle of their offspring, which results in many severe disputes. Besides, in some particular situations, it seems to be a risk for grandparents’ health when they ought to take care of children. As proof, due to a variety of age-related diseases such as heart diseases or high blood pressure, the old will be in danger if they join some outdoor activities like sports. In summary, it is undeniable that there are both merits and drawbacks for young and old generation to spend time with each other.