Water Management Strategies in China

Watershed management In locations where waters flow in particular areas along a body of water, watershed management has is applied. This has been an ongoing and long-time strategy that focuses on comprehensive erosion control measures such as hill slope and gully stabilization reorganizing farmlands and regulating the river system. Soft-path approach To significantly improve water productivity and provide water services that tailor to the needs of individual consumers, we take note of the soft-path approach. Through monitoring the water pricing, rights, along with the management of the rising water demands. A market-based mechanism such as the National Water Rights Exchange platform prevents inefficient use of products. A certain amount of water would be provided to each user. They could either decide whether they would use these as a whole or sell a portion of the amount they have conserved to those who require more than the limit. However, this is only applicable to users who are under the same watershed. Additionally, the taxes of water resources differ based on the localities, total amount used specific uses, and water supply source (surface or groundwater). Ecological Civilization With the application of circularity, societal growth, and preservation of the harmony between humans and nature, the ecological civilization consolidates these to reach the superior development of the country in the coming years along. Through technological advancements, application of environmentalism, and enforcement of laws such as the 'Water Prevention Act of 2008. ' South-North Water Transfer Project Southern China encompasses 80% of the total water China holds. In the Northerly part of China, there is an insufficient amount provided. The South-North Water Transfer Projects aims to transfer approximately 45 billion cubic meters of water from one to another to resolve this uneven dispersal. The water demand is high due to the scarcity and the fall of water quality due to contamination or excessive pollution. The expanding industries, continual development, and overpopulation have put a heavy toll on the amount of pressure on its demand.