Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

Money is often regarded as the most important resource on our planet. Humans should be able to realize the value of money right from a very young age. Hence, I agree with the statement that school children should be taught the value of money and its importance. If children are taught the importance of money right from a very young age, they are better suited to face the challenges of life. Knowing the importance of money, they will make conscious efforts to live well within their means. Children would soon realize that money saved today is, in fact, an investment for their and their family's future. Today's economic is extremely fickle and there's no evidence suggesting that this is going to change in the coming decades. If children are taught the value of money as a part of their curriculum, they'd be better suited to face the economic uncertainity that their future might hold. Being aware of the importance of money will make them financial independent. This will be further taught by to the next generation and so on. This snowball effect would uproot any problems caused by lack of proper financial management that are a part of the current generation Childhood is a very delicate time in any child's life. The lessons he/she learns in this age will be carried by him/her throughout their life. Therefore, in addition to the core curriculum of any school which involves Maths, English etc, the children are also taught morals and values. Then why should the value and importance of something so essential as money not be given the same treatment? Inculcating the importance of money in them at a very young age will only help them to better navigate their adult life. Isn't that the whole idea of schools and curriculum. If the children grow up without realizing the value of money, they are more likely to burn through their income as soon as they recieve it. To make matter worse, children today are not at all taught about basic financial activties such as balancing a cheque book or doing their taxes. Adding this to their ignorance of the importance of money means most children will not be able to make it in the real world once they come of age. People who lack the the knowledge of value of money will soon find themselves without it. As a result of which, they might resort to criminal activities. This would convert someone who would've been a smart citizen, contributing to the society to someone who is now a bad aspect of society. All of this, could've been avoided by simply teaching them the value of money. However, the value of money should be taught to the children in a very specific way. Children are impressionable, in that, they might grow up to believe money is everything. This might make the children feel that no amount of money will ever be enough causing them to engage in some criminal activities, which would beat the core purpose. In conclusion, the value and importance of money should be taught to children right from a very young age in a way that teaches them the importance of money in an age-appropriate way.