using of animals in medical research

Animal experimentation is perceived as one of the most crucial factors in determining the development of medicines. Some people state that the use of animals in medical research could be of great benefit to most countries and offer several advantages, while others insist that is an unethical practice. In this essay, both benefits and potential drawbacks from animal experimentations need to be seriously evaluated. It is widely assumed that animal experimentation would undoubtedly bring a variety of practical benefits to the world. In the other words, various areas have benefited from the popularity of using animals in medical research. The first point that must be mentioned is that the use of animals in research is essential for enabling researchers to develop new drugs and treatments. A typical example is that scientists are able to advance their knowledge of human and animal health and disease dramatically by studying animal models. To be more specific, research showed that animals are biologically very similar to humans. In fact, mice share more than 99% DNA with us. It extremely benefits people to protect and cure their illnesses with quality medicine. Another clear view against animal experimentation points out that is an unethical practice. To put it another way, people respond that it is violent or harassing to the animal, as it is used to be an object in an experiment. For instance, thousands of monkeys are sent as specimens every year, this contributes to the extinction of the species, and above all, it is really inhumane. The experiments are painful to the animals and even if the experiments on animals such as the Wuhan bat may contain many pathogens that are harmful to humans. Some people state say that the medicine company should be banned from doing so. The medicine company has to find another way to test the medicine without using the animal in the experiment. Moreover, the company should have developed a better method to solve the issue. In summary, based on the brief analysis above, it is evident that there are both positive and negative influences of using animals in medical development. Nonetheless, compared with most other social issues, under different circumstances, the arguments about animals experimentation need to be seriously evaluated.