Write about the following topic. Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technology, computers have become a fundamental part of our lives. Especially, children are more drawn to computers these days for doing schoolwork and playing games. This essay will discuss why children should not be too attached to computers and why I think using it on a daily basis can have severe repercussions. Computers are one of the major sources of entertainment for the young generation. They spend long hours playing games and being active on social media. On the surface, these activities do not seem to effect anyone but there are consequences that follow. For example, children that face problems like eye strain, migraines, along with back pains are mostly because they are exposed to the bright light from screens and have been in uncomfortable posture for a prolonged duration. Taking social interaction into consideration, young people who are into computers daily have fewer social skills and are emotionally detached from their family and friends. They are disconnected from society which results in depression and anxiety. Research from Boston University in 2019 showed that 60 percent of the students who had emotional breakdown were too much attached to their computers and it also showed that almost three-fourths were online gamers. To an extent, computers are a medium of getting things done more efficiently but they should not be taken as a daily chore. One should realize that using it excessively can have adverse effects. Hence, I agree that using it day in and day out can be detrimental.