Tourists hardly visit museums in most of the countries. What could be the probable reasons, what steps should be taken by the government to attract more tourist.

Museums preserve the ancient and valuable objects that are considered important by a country. In the contemporary world, people visiting other countries want robust entertainment, which is enjoyable for them. This essay will narrate two key factors behind the decline in visits to tourism and also suggest some steps, which can prove as an incentive for overseas visitors. Firstly, museums offer very little entertainment and have a very limited attendance. The whole concept of museum needs to be revolutionized. Foreigners are hardly interested in watching the history of a country. By adding new features like a cinema, live music, theatre performances more local and foreign people can be attracted. For example, the national museum of Lahore, Pakistan offered only seeing historical artefacts preserved in a building, recently, a park was built around it, the new cafeteria was added with local delicacies, which, in turn, resulted in a high volume of foreign tourist. Secondly, museums are mostly owned by the state or federal governments' and these governments do not spend money and effort in advertising these places on their websites. If respective governments take foreign diplomats and dignitaries on a official trip to their museums, this will promote their culture and advertise their museums on an international level. To illustrate, the Norwegian museum, the museum in Germany are an example of them. Germany preserved the concentration camps from the Nazi period and tourists from around the world visit Germany to see them. To conclude, the decline in visits to the museums is because they offer little and not properly advertised. By adding new features and proactive advertisement we can attract more travellers to the museums.