Some people say that modern communication technology means that good handwriting is no longer necessary. Others believe that good handwriting will always be an important skill.

A currently contentious issue relates to whether contemporary technology in communication has rendered the ability to write letters neatly unnecessary or not. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view and then explain why people do not need to write by hand well any longer. There are some who argue that owing to the modern advancement of communication technology, people are no longer required to handwrite well. They have this opinion because personal computers save them a lot of time and effort when producing documents. They need not be dogged by how letters look because as long as they utilize computers, all the letters look alike. All they have to be concerned about is the contents of the documents they work on. It is also possible to say that technology reduces the number of mistakes people make. For instance, they can activate the spell checker when they type sentences. If there were no such functions, it would take forever, for example, to correct errors. Turning to the other side of the argument, some individuals claim that it is still essential to write neat letters by hand. There are some cases where handwriting is more preferable to typing. To illustrate, those who belong to the older generation in Japan want resumes to be written by hand. This is because they believe that letters reflect writers’ personalities. However, they can tell what others are if they meet them in person and spend some time chatting with them. To conclude, there are both pros and cons in handwriting. On balance, however, there seem to be more merits than demerits. This is because of the efficiency of contemporary communication technology. The time and energy saved by technology should be spent on other aspects of people’s everyday lives, enhancing the quality of their lives.