Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Tourism plays an important part in the development of a country and is actively promoted through various platforms. Attracting tourists will not only boosts the economy but also promotes the tradition of the country, however, there are some drawbacks as tourists may get exposed to the dark side of a country which is may tamper with the reputation. People who travel will spend on everything from basic necessities to purchasing traditional products creating a source of income for the nation. The locals and government will benefit from the expenditure done by the foreigners and will directly contribute to the overall income. For instance, few places around the globe have become so popular that the majority of their GDP is contributed by the Tourism sector like Dubai, which holds a world record of hosting a million tourists every month since 2019 and reported to earn 100 million dollars each month through tourism. On the other hand, the other nationals may get exposed to the dark side of the country. The country might not provide freedom to their locals and are often accused of imprisoning people who go against the policies of the nation. For example, in North Korea majority of the citizens are treated like slaves and live under extreme conditions which are unhabitable to humans. The whole world was in complete shock when a tourist posted a video of the hostel camps on an online platform and since then this country has become infamous for its slavery and is accused of violating human rights. In conclusion, tourism can be a crucial contribution to help and boost a country’s economy and is always benefit from the tourists, with negligible drawbacks it brings to the nation.