Topic: Sending criminals to prison is a waste of time. Discuss.

Punishment for crimes varies from one country to another. While many people believe that anyone who commits a crime should be put in prison, others think sending criminals to jail is a waste of time and money. Both sides of this argument will be analyzed before a conclusion is reached. On the one hand, many people claim that criminals have to be imprisoned whether their crimes are serious or not. Imprisonment is a very common punishment in most countries in the world because prison is the most suitable place to rehabilitate prisoners, especially those committing serious offences. In addition, long prison sentences will act as a deterrent for someone who has some thought of committing a crime. This will lead to reducing the rate of delinquency in society. On the other hand, many people contest the above claim and argue that it is time and money consuming to send criminals to prison. In other words, imprisonment does not help reduce criminality. For first-time offenders, being in prison may have a bad influence on their character. They may become worse people because of being affected by other bad prisoners. For hardened criminals, imprisonment seems not to be heavy punishment. Therefore, when they are free, they may commit the same crime again in a higher level. This proves that imprisonment is meaningless in educating them to be good citizens later. In conclusion, criminal problems are likely to be solved in several ways. Depending on the severity of crime, governments should have the right punishment for criminals. In my opinion, long prison sentences should remain for those who commit serious crimes such as assault or murder because of the justice for the victims and their families.