Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Over the last half century, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of vehicles. This has resulted in heavy traffic jams especially in the big cities. Therefore, some people think that increasing oil prices might help solve this problem. In my view this approach can be proved beneficial up to some extent however, other methods are much superior than former view. To begin with, oil and gas play a fundamental role in the industry because these days most of the heavy machinery used in different sectors are operated by petrol. For instance, a recent study conducted in India has revealed that nearly 70% of all businesses are connected to the price of petrol. In addition, higher price of petrol indirectly influence the price of the various goods in the market through the cost of their transportation. On the other side, there are some other ways to tackle traffic and pollution problems in urban areas. Firstly, improving methods of public transportation as well as the increase in their availability. As a result, it will significantly reduce the use of private cars. For example, a recent report published in newspaper has shown that, the upward trend in the various means of public transport such as buses and trains. Secondly, the government should invest more money on repairing and maintaining roads and constructing new bridges to solve the problem of traffic congestion. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that, the higher cost of fuel is not only the best way to decrease pollution and traffic problems but also use of public transport and government new infrastructure facility eradicate these problems.