Todoy, the life expecloncy of peopre rb much higher fhon before. some people think thot older people should conlinui to be involved in the worffiorce- To whor exfenf do you ogree or disogree? (Disogree)

It is true that longevity has led to an increase in the ability of people to work for longer years. on the face of it, increasing the retirement age seems to be a logical outcome of the increase in the lifespan. However, I disagree with the statement that older people should continue to be a part of the workforce. I shall support my point of view in the following paragraphs. The proponents of this view suggest that if we can live longer, we can work longer. No doubt people are living longer than in the past times, due to the advancement in the discoveries in medicine, however, after a certain age the physical capability of a human reduces. Also, many people suffer from health ailments. That is the time they need to relax and enjoy, after working for decades. They should be utilizing that time in travelling and pursuing their interests and hobbies, which they couldn't because of their hectic work life. Moreover, those who work throughout their lives in physically demanding and challenging jobs, it might not be possible for them to work in old age. Also, some studies have shown that the increase in life expectancy has a direct relation with the income. Those who earn well are healthier than the low paid workers. This is because the better salaried people normally do not have physically demanding jobs and can afford better treatments. Another major disadvantage of increasing the retirement age is an increase in the unemployed youth. Unemployment among the younger population leads to bigger problems, like increase in the crime rate, violent behavior, drug addiction, and so on. That is a bigger menace, which needs to be curbed before it goes out of control' lncreasing the retirement age will definitely not help with the issue of unemployment of the youth. ln fact, it will only worsen it, especially in developing countries, like lndia and China. In conclusion, an increase in the retirement age should not be made without careful consideration of what consequences it might have on the future generations and the entire workforce of the nation. Considering that the youth is the future of any nation, an increase in the older workforce is definitely not a good solution to any count4y's economic and social problems.