Today we can see excessive consumption of natural resources such as air, fresh water, oil and so on. The usage is increasing at a very dangerous pace and is already reaching critical levels. What are the reasons contributing to this? What should be done to minimise the effects?

These days people are becoming more concerned with the overuse of natural resources comprising air, fresh water, fossil fuel and so on. The fact that people's consumption is not reasonable and at an alarming level, so the goal of this essay is to elaborate on the causes and outline some pragmatic approaches to minimize this problem. As regards the causes, one of the primary factors giving rise to this issue is that the global population is still rising day by day resulting in the increasing demand to consume natural resources. The fact that natural resources cannot be produced on its own and cannot be regenerated, the growth of the number of population reaching over 7. 5 billion, while, has required a higher number of food, water, vehicles and so on leading to the capability of exhausting of natural resources. From a different angle, the second cause of this question is the awareness of people, especially some countryside ones who still believe that natural resources are inexhaustible ones. There may be various ways to address this situation, but the following suggestions can be substantially effective. Firstly, I believe the government should give hands to solve this problem by taking some actions like amendments in terms of law relevant to the usage of natural resources. In other words, it is necessary to enact statutory documents which punish the actions of wasting natural resources or polluting the air. By doing this, the government can control these issues and bring positive results for a long time. Besides, other endeavours, such as education from both school and family are equally important, as an example, teachers and parents should teach kids the importance of natural resources as well as the way of using reasonably and protecting them. Raising children’s awareness from an early age not only helps them soon perceive positive and negative impacts of natural resources but also contributes to build a conscious young generation. In conclusion, the discussion above has pinpointed the main causes of this pressing problem. From my perspective, I believe that authorities should take the lead in taking actions to curb this situation before it is aggravated and the suggested solutions above can be of great help.