Today, food travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

There is no doubt that an increasing number of food items offered in supermarkets are imported nowadays. Sometimes even quite ordinary food has travelled a long distance. This essay will explore the reasons for this tendency and discuss its benefits and drawbacks. There are a number of factors contributing to the food import and export flow. The first reason is to meet the customers’ demand. This could be explained by the fact that some sorts of food may only be produced in certain countries or regions. Taking the kiwi fruit as an example, which cannot be grown in Vietnam so Vietnamese people need to import them from far away countries, such as New Zealand or America. Another reason is that today’s global trade with low-cost transportation services and fewer trade barriers has encouraged this trend. That is also why a wide range of foreign foods sold in domestic supermarkets. I firmly believe that this trend would has both negative and positive impacts. One of two primary merits is that imported foods often have good quality compared to locally grown food. This is because they must be checked carefully before being imported. It means only the best products end up on our market. Another merit is that customers could buy many kinds of food with cheaper prices. The US dollar is a case in point since it is more valuable in numerous countries, and local people can take advantage out of. However, this trend also brings some drawbacks. Firstly, imported foods are often more expensive than local foods. It is simply because the food firms would pay a lot for shipping, advertising and marketing and selling these at higher prices is not avoidable. Moreover, in some cases, Moreover, in some cases, exotic vegetables and fruits are not as fresh and healthy as internally grown foods since they require the use of chemical and preservatives. In conclusion, there are lots of different factors leading to the increasing of imported foods and I would argue that this trend is both beneficial and detrimental.