Some people think the most important thing for nurses is to have strong medical knowledge, but others believe other qualities for nurses are still important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

A few sections of society often believed that having deep healthcare knowledge should be the number one priority for nurses. However, others feel that skills like communication, empathy are also equally important. This essay will examine both views and explain why I agree that additional skills are highly essential for nurses with medical knowledge. There are many people who think that nurses should give the most important consideration to clinical knowledge and its qualification. This is primarily because, in many hospitals, few doctors are available for large numbers of patients, which becomes arduous for doctors to give attention to every individual. As a result, they are highly dependent on their assistant medical staff like nurses and trainees for the treatment. Therefore, the strong knowledge of nurses in the medical field will eventually help in the treatment of people effectively. For example, many hospitals, despite having fewer doctors and more Corona patients, treating the people more efficiently with the help of qualified support staff. Others, however, including myself, feel that not only medical knowledge but also other skills are significantly crucial for the nurses. In other words, with the qualities like communication, empathy, and patience, nurses can take care of the patient with emotional support and make them feel like being taken care of by a family member. Although medicine and better healthcare facilities are enough for treatment, the recovery period will be faster if people get extra attention and care. For instance, to understand the emotional need and problems of the patient, one should show sympathy and communicate with them. In such situations, a medical degree or education is not helpful. In conclusion, only focusing on clinical knowledge may not be enough to treat people. In my view, with qualification, nurses should learn other soft skills and qualities also.