Obesity is now a major global epidemic

Obesity is now one of the main causes of preventable death, especially in industrialised countries. To tackle this problem, governments can reduce the impact of their overweight citizens by the careful use of taxation to fund alternatives to a sedentary lifestyle. However, individuals should also take responsibility for their own health by avoiding a bad diet and taking the initiative to participate in sport. It is important for governments to act quickly to curb obesity because of the rising death rate. There will also be rising costs in healthcare and the benefits system if it is left unchecked. To combat this problem, governments should, first of all, heavily tax junk food and use the revenue generated to subsidise healthy fruit and vegetables. This would make healthy food cheaper and more widely available than unhealthier options. Also, the government can act by funding leisure centres, sports clubs and gyms. This money could be used to help people gain motivation to exercise and become more active. On the other hand, there are those who claim that obesity is due to lifestyle choice and therefore an individual problem, not one for the government. They claim that people should find their own motivation to prevent obesity by being aware of the potentially fatal consequences of their lifestyles. Individuals could also change their diets by switching from a carbohydrate-heavy diet to one which includes a balance of vitamins and minerals. Joining a sports club need not always be the only way to lose weight. Even vigorous housework or heavy gardening can help avert heart disease. In conclusion, although individuals may be able to help themselves by changing their diets and activities, it may require government intervention to tackle obesity quickly and on a large scale.