These days some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or events. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Along with players wages, there has been a gradual increase in the price of attending sporting or events. In recent times people have been spending a significant amount of their salary’s on attending sporting or events. This essay will show why I think that this is a positive development, because if people can spend this money why would they not, and I view this a form of investment. In the case that people can afford to purchase expensive tickets why would this be negative thing? In the same way people like other expensive items, I cannot see why these events would be different. For instance, spending 50 000 dollars on a fancy car is not viewed badly, but spending so much on tickets would be. Although, these are all just cases of people spending money on what brings them joy, therefore should not be considered distinct. For the most part if they enjoy these things spending whatever amount of money would not be a negative thing. With this in mind, the increase in amount people spend on tickets should also be viewed as a investment, because without this influx of money the events would not be able to occur. To clarify, buying a ticket to watch a famous football club may cost several hundred dollars, however, these fans view this purchase as a investment in their favourite club, since a majority of the money will go to the clubs playing. As a consequence, for them it is a worthwhile purchase as it ensures the future of their event will be able to continue for a number of years to come. To conclude, in the same way some people spend money on cars or accessories, If people wish to do so on tickets since it is their money it remains their choice and they may choose to do this so that these events may continue. This is why I think paying a considerable sum for a ticket is a positive development as it shows enthusiasm to support sporting or events.