These days, an increasing number of people in many cities know little about their neighbors and do not have a sense of community. What do you think are the causes and what solutions can you suggest?

Currently, humankind is closing its inner circle of friends and hardly interacting with new people. This is making individuals not enjoy the fullest of their cities and not knowing other citizens. I believe the causes for it are the advance in entertainment technologies and our modern lives, however, the government can do several actions to tackle this issue and maximize social events. First of all, electronic devices changed the way people entertain themselves. There are several kinds of entertainment without needing to leave our houses nowadays. For example, people can use computers or subscribe to one of the plenty streaming services available and never be bored anymore. That is why local authorities must create interesting events to make people socialize more. A few solutions to this issue could be community fairs with crafts from local individuals, moreover, regular sports competitions with an after-party for only local residents so they can know more about their neighbours. Likewise, the fast-paced work-life everyone has and the lack of free time also make it difficult to start new friendships. Individuals tend to spend more time at work than at home and are constantly tired to go to social events. Therefore, the government should create laws that would allow workers to have one day off every month if they do something for the community. For instance, voluntary work within the neighbourhood they live in, such as, help elders in need, some maintenance at the local park, anything that would be done amongst their neighbours. In conclusion, our modern lives took us apart from our communities. Thus, local authorities must do something to change this. Some solutions are voluntary work and more social events so citizens could interact and meet new friends.