These days, a considerable amount of advertising is directed at children. Should it be banned because of the adverse effects?

Nowadays, advertising is a key part of modern business and a large amount of advertisements is aimed at children. Some people believe that advertising should be banned due to its negative impacts, however I am the opinion that advertisements should not be completely prohibited. This essay will justify my point of view with valid arguments and examples. On the one hand, if ommercials can manipulate adults, they can have a considerably higher chance of tricking children. since they do not understand the value of money and they lack the ability to distinguish misleading or false information included in the advertisements, they will pester and put pressure on parents to buy the newest toy, for example. However expensive the toy is, with an attractive advertisement, children would beg their parents for it. In addition, children can easily be influenced by them. For instance, if their favourite cartoon character describes a product, which might have a destructive effect on their health, such as junk food, as the most delicious food, children will believe despite all the negative effects of advertised product. On the other hand, advertising is one of the key of a prosperous economy. Without it there would be higher unemployment. For example, McDonalds provides thousands of employment opportunities in advertising around the world. So, if advertising was banned, a huge number of workers, such as marketers, may become unemployed. In conclusion, although children-oriented advertising has a certain negative impacts, imposing a prohibition on it is unreasonable.