: There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

Nowadays, students are under stress of achieving academic goals successfully. Consequently, many people argue that in order to keep students focus on practical subjects, school curriculums should remove skill-based subjects like physical education and cookery. I agree that focusing on academic subjects is important for many children. However, non-academic works are essential for students as well, and it should not be withdrawn form school schedules. For many, spending the majority of time on practical works is one way of being successful, but it is not necessarily the best option for every student. Some students might have a future plan that does not require practical skills such as physics and Maths to achieve. For example, if a young person wants to be a chef, it is better to gain experience of cookery in stead of studying science. Furthermore, some subjects provide students opportunities to unwind and relax during busy school days. Through the creative lessons or sport activities, students will feel refreshed, and be able to pay more attention on other academic courses. For example, during a physical education class, students can stretch and improve their blood circular, which has positive impact on their body after sitting for a long time. Moreover, other hands-on skills like woodwork or art can be beneficial to children, as they can gain some knowledge and apply it on their daily life. In conclusion, the removal of non-academic subjects might be one way to keep students focus on academic work. Nonetheless, skill-based courses are crucial for students to learn and practice as well, and they should be kept in school curriculums.